Skip to main content
All CollectionsProjects and ClientsClient portal
Activate or deactivate client portals
Activate or deactivate client portals

Getting your client portal all set up.

Sam Gioia avatar
Written by Sam Gioia
Updated over a week ago

Updated Jul 10, 2023

All client portals start out deactivated. You must activate them using the methods listed below before your client can start using their portal.


In this article:


Manually activate or deactivate a client portal

Activate or deactivate the client portal in one of two ways:

Within a client’s project

  1. Go to Projects and select the client.

  2. Under the Portal section in the sidebar, click the down arrow.

  3. Click Activate. The client portal status will change from “Not Active” to “Active”.

gif showing clicking down arrow then activate will activate the portal

From the address book

  1. Go to Utilities >> Address Book.

  2. Click on the client’s profile.

  3. Next to Portal Settings, click the down arrow.

  4. Click Activate. The client portal status will change from “Not Active” to “Active”.


Automatically activate or deactivate a client portal through a workflow

There is an activate or deactivate workflow action that will automatically activate each client's portal.

arrow pointing to activate portal action in a workflow

Set a password

Create a password that is specific to the client. A client portal must have a password if you are using the public client portal link from Settings >> Portal. See share the client portal for more information.

  1. Go to Projects and select the client.

  2. Under the Portal section in the sidebar, change the password.


Share the portal with the client

After you’ve activated the portal, share the portal with the client.


FAQ

My client is getting an error on the client portal login page.

Please see common client portal error messages and how to fix them.

Can you automatically set a password in a workflow?

No. However, you can make a Create Todo action to remind yourself to create a portal password before continuing the workflow.

Do forms still get sent to a deactivated client portal?

Yes. Forms get added to the client portal even if the portal is deactivated. However, your client can't access the portal or added forms until you activate it again.

Did this answer your question?