Updated Nov 4, 2022

Once you’re finished working on a project, you may choose to archive or delete the project to maintain a clean projects page.


In this article


Archive vs delete

The table below outlines important similarities and differences to help you decide which option is best for your business.

Archive a project

Delete a project

Backups

Project can be recovered

Project cannot be recovered

Client portal

Project remains viewable

Project is deleted

Emails

Future emails appear in your inbox and stay connected to the archived project

Future emails appear in your inbox but are not connected to a project

Forms

Contracts and all forms remain viewable to both you and the client

Contracts and sub-agreements are manually deleted. Other forms remain viewable to both you and the client

Invoices

Leads: Invoices close

Jobs: Invoices stay open

Invoices are deleted

Reminders

Form expiration reminders, appointment reminders, and payment reminders continue to send

All reminders stop

Workflows

Workflow automation and triggers pause

Workflow automation and triggers stop

👋 Here’s a tip… We recommend archiving projects and only deleting accidental or test projects.


Archive a project

How to archive a project:

  1. Click Projects on the left sidebar.

  2. Under the actions column, click the dropdown arrow.

  3. Select Archive.

arrow pointing to archive option

👋 Here’s a tip… Another way to archive a project is to go into the project itself, then click the dropdown arrow next to the project title.

arrow pointing to archive option within a project

Archive multiple projects

How to archive multiple projects at once:

  1. Click Projects on the left sidebar.

  2. Check the box next to each project you want to archive.

  3. Click the top dropdown arrow.

  4. Select Archive.

ways to archive multiple projects

View archived projects

You have two ways to view archived projects. You can:

  • type your client’s name into the search bar

  • go to Projects >> Archived tab to view all projects

arrow pointing to archived section on projects page

Un-archive a project

If you archived a project accidentally or want the workflow to continue on an archived project, you must first un-archive the project.

  1. Click Projects on the left sidebar.

  2. Select the Archived box on the far right.

  3. Under the actions column, click the dropdown arrow.

  4. Choose Un-Archive.

arrow pointing to unarchive option

👋 Here's a tip... Another way to un-archive a project is to go to the client’s profile in Utilities >> Address Book. Click on the archived project, then select the dropdown arrow next to the project title to un-archive.


Delete a project

Remember, deleted projects can’t be recovered. Make sure you’re 100% certain before deleting a project!

To delete a project, you must first manually delete the contract, all sub-agreements, and all invoices within that project.

Delete contract

  1. While within the project, click the dropdown arrow next to Contract.

  2. Select Remove.

Delete sub-agreements

  1. Click the Forms tab.

  2. Hover over the sub-agreement you wish to delete.

  3. Click the red trashcan icon.

Delete invoices

  1. Click the Invoices tab.

  2. Scroll down and under Payments, click the black trashcan icon to remove any payments applied to the invoice.

  3. Scroll back up and click the Invoice List tab.

  4. Click the red trashcan icon to remove all invoices from the project.

Delete project

  1. Click Projects on the left sidebar.

  2. Under the actions column, click the dropdown arrow.

  3. Select Delete.

👋 Here's a tip... Sent forms remain accessible from deleted projects under the client's profile in Utilities >> Address Book.

Did this answer your question?