After applying a workflow to a project, there are some manual adjustments you can make to customize the automation. These include editing, removing, or forcing actions, and even removing the workflow completely.

⚠️ Heads up! This article covers changes you can make to a workflow already running inside of a project. Any changes you make to the workflow running inside the project will have no effect on the master template. The changes will only affect the copy of the workflow running inside that specific project.


In this article


Checkmarks and timestamps

When you view a workflow running inside of a project under the Workflows tab, you will see a large checkmark next to any action that has already run (or been marked complete). The system automatically adds these checkmarks for you. Once an action has run, you will not be able to stop it or make any further edits to it.

👋 Here's a tip... create todo actions generate a smaller checkbox for you to click on and complete the task. Learn more about todos and approve buttons here.

Actions that have run will also show a timestamp in place of the original trigger. This timestamp indicates when the action was or will be triggered to run.

As soon as the workflow is able to calculate a trigger time for an action, the timestamp will appear. For example, if an action is triggered by the project date, you'll see a timestamp appear as soon as a project date is set.

Sometimes there is a delay between the time an action is triggered and the time the it actually runs. If the trigger time has passed, but you don't see a checkmark next to that action yet, you may need to refresh your page or wait for the system to catch up.


Edit an action

Click Edit next to an action inside the workflow to change the type of action, trigger, or content being sent.

Here are some examples of when you may need to edit an action:

  • change the trigger to adjust the timing or clear a too late to send error
  • customize the body of an email to reference a meeting you just had with the client or some specifics about their project
  • select a different form or scheduler to send (if changing a form, add that form to the project under the Forms tab first)

Click Apply to save your changes.

⚠️ Heads up! Other actions in your workflow may be dependent on specific timing or content being sent. Remember to update other actions as needed.


Remove an action

Click Remove to completely delete an action from the workflow. Only remove an action when you're certain you do not want it to run.

Hold on! Removing an action cannot be undone. Once you click Remove, the action will be deleted immediately.

⚠️ Heads up! Other actions in your workflow may be dependent on the action you're deleting. Remember to update other actions as needed.


Mark an action complete

Click Mark Completed on an action to effectively skip that action in the workflow. A large checkmark will appear as if the action had been completed, but the workflow will not perform that action.

👋 Here's a tip... marking an action complete is best when you already took that action manually. For example, manually sending an email outside of the workflow that would normally be automated.


Force an action to run

Click Force Now to run an action immediately, regardless of its position in the workflow. There may be a few minutes delay before the action is completed, but forcing the action tells the system to run it ASAP!

Forcing actions is helpful when a client needs something right away, or when you're testing a workflow with actions set to run far into the future.

👋 Here's a tip... you may need to refresh the page after clicking Force Now to see the large checkmark appear, indicating the action has run.


Add an action

Click Add Action at the bottom of the workflow to add a brand new action in. After adding the action, you can click and drag it into position.

You may need to add an action when a client needs to be sent an extra email, or if you accidentally removed an action and need to replace it.


Archive a workflow

Click Archive Workflow to completely remove a workflow from the project. Only archive the workflow when you're certain you no longer want the workflow on the project. This action is permanent and cannot be undone.

Archiving a workflow does not undo any of the actions already completed or delete any of the content already added to the project.


Pause or re-activate a workflow

Click the green Active button to pause a workflow. Pausing a workflow prevents it from running any more actions until you manually re-activate it.

If the workflow is paused, click the yellow Paused button to re-activate it. This will allow the workflow to continue running where it left off.

⚠️ Heads up! If your workflow has paused due to an error, fix the error and refresh the page before unpausing the workflow.

Did this answer your question?