In Dubsado, communicating with your clients is organized around projects. However, we do have an address book that allows you to search through your existing clients to access contact information, notes, and past projects for your reference.

The address book can be found under Utilities >> Address Book in the main menu.


In this article


Add a client

The best way to add a new client is while you are creating a new project, but you can add a new client from the address book as well.

  1. Click Add Client.
  2. Enter the client's first name, last name, and email (minimum) in the modal window.
  3. Click Add to create the client profile only or click Add and Create Project to create a new project where you can start communicating with the client.

👋 Here's a tip... if you have a CSV file with all your existing clients, you can bulk import your client list.


Find a client

You can see basic contact info at a glance and type in the Filter Results search bar to find the client you’re looking for.


Edit a client profile

  1. Click on a client in the address book to open their profile.
  2. Click Edit in the top right corner.
  3. Click Save & Close at the bottom of the modal window when finished.

⚠️ Heads up! When you update a client’s profile, their information will also be updated across all of their projects.


View past communication

The address book can also be used to look up past interactions you've had with the client across all of their projects. The Emails and Forms tabs will show all of the emails and forms that have been sent to the client through Dubsado.

⚠️ Heads up! Even though you could send new emails and forms from these tabs, we strongly recommend that you use a project instead. If you send a form or email from the address book, there will be no way to later attach it to a project.

The Projects tab will list all of the client’s projects (including any that were archived) and the total amount of the primary invoice on the project, if there is one.


Add notes to a client profile

Under the Notes and Call Log tabs you can add more information about the client and your interactions. These notes are only for you and are never visible to the client.

When you enter notes and call logs for a client in the address book, they will also be visible in the notes and call logs of every project for that client.


Delete a client

  1. Delete all projects associated with the client you wish to delete.
  2. Go to Utilities >> Address Book.
  3. Type the client's name in the Filter Results search bar.
  4. Click the trash can icon.

FAQ

What happens if I delete a client?

Deleting a client will delete all of the information tied to them, including invoices, so review your client’s information carefully before choosing to delete them. On a paid account, there is no limit to the number of clients you can have, so unless a client was created in error, there is generally not a need to delete them.

⚠️ Heads up! Deleting a client will not give you another trial client back. Learn more about using your trial here.


Can I merge two clients?

No, you cannot merge two clients. If a client already exists in your address book and you want to start a new project with them, be sure to add them from the client selection dropdown to avoid creating a duplicate client. However, if an existing client fills out a lead capture form again, as long as they use the same email address, the new project created will be tied to their existing profile.

What is the difference between notes and call logs?

The only difference between a note and a call log is that you can add a date to a call log. Otherwise, both are exactly the same!

Did this answer your question?